(Re)Creating Carly











{July 25, 2013}   Tea & Inspiration – Part Two – Summertime

Oh, summer. Buttercups under the chin.  Movies under the stars. Days that go on forever. Time for reading and writing and doing all those things I’ve waited all winter to do. I love summer—and not just because I’m lucky enough to get summers off, although that doesn’t hurt. There’s just something about the scent of lilacs in the air that make me nostalgic for summers past. Being a kid, playing hide-and-seek with the neighborhood crew. Or being a teenager and sneaking out to go swimming with my friends (Sorry, Mom and Dad). Or, as an adult, taking last minute road trips, windows down, singing along to anything and everything that comes on the radio. It’s always been a time for slowing life down a bit, and just enjoying.

Summertime is also a time for renewal. For trying new things. And for getting back to the heart of what’s important in our lives. Earlier this year, I tried my best to kick start a workout routine. I even blogged about it in my first installment of Tea & Inspiration. You see, deciding to pay off my debt isn’t just about becoming debt-free for me. It’s about living the dream—living MY dream life.

Part of my dream life involves being physically fit. And this summer, my focus has been on getting (back) into shape. Between school year madness and getting sick a lot, I dropped the ball on fitness over the past couple years. Sure, I made a few scattered attempts to get it together during that period, but nothing stuck. And my muscles have been hating me for it. I didn’t realize just how much until I recently took a 3-mile walk with a friend and had a ton of leg pain afterwards. LEG PAIN FROM WALKING?! Whoever heard of such a thing?! Not me, that’s for sure. And towards the end of the school year, I was getting pain just from STANDING.

I’m a naturally thin person—my weight hasn’t really changed since high school, so even though I knew I wasn’t as fit as I used to be, I considered myself to be in decent shape. The reality, however, is that I was slowly losing all the muscle in my body that used to make doing things like WALKING and STANDING a snap. Being thin definitely does NOT mean being in shape.  And, let’s face it, it doesn’t matter how much debt you’ve paid off or how much money you have in the bank, if you’re not healthy, none of it really matters.

Right now, I’m in Florida with family, soaking up the sunscreen, and hitting the gym for about 2 hours a day. Go big or go home, right? It’s been about two and a half weeks since I started and I’ve gone from barely being able to do a crunch to being able to do over a hundred of these:

Swiss Ball Jackknife. Ouch.

In such a short amount of time, I can feel a big difference. I feel stronger. Empowered. And my legs haven’t ached at all – other than the normal after-workout soreness. I know how lucky I am to have a summer off to dedicate to this, and I don’t want to waste a moment of it. Now I just have to figure out how to keep it up once I’m back to reality! I think I can… I think I can…

In other ‘dream life’ news, I’m excited to report that I just made a $2,000 credit card payment – courtesy of my summer sublet. Yay! It’s been about six months since I began my quest to become debt-free, and I’ve paid off almost one-half of my debt. On my salary, that’s a miracle!

I hope you are all making the most of your summer, and getting closer to living the life of your dreams.

What have you been up to this summer? What are some things you’d like to accomplish in order to be living YOUR dream life?

John says:

Just returned from the Cape after spending several days with your sister, the runner, and not only are my legs sore but my feet are killing me! Apparently playing golf 2-3 times a week (with cart) is not enough exercise! As you know, I’ve been walking regularly after dinner most evenings for a mile or two, but walking 3-4 miles on wet sand beaches is something else altogether. Can I get some sympathy here? Luv U, Dad



Carly says:

Wait! You’re already living the dream life!! No sympathy for you! 🙂 Love you too.



Congrats on the debt repayment and getting in shape. Hope you’re enjoying some outdoor fitness as well since you’re in florida…then again it may be really hot and humid. Hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!



Carly says:

Thank you! Too hot here for outdoor fitness (for me, anyway), but I did spend the day at the beach yesterday watching other people enjoy outdoor fitness! 🙂



Matt says:

When you decide to attack something – budget, fitness – you go all in, no mercy. I love that. It’s inspiring. And it makes me happy to see you reaping the fruits of your discipline and hard work!



Carly says:

Ah… you’re the best! Thanks so much, as always, for your support!



Well done on exercising and getting into shape, I should start doing that too. I miss exercising! I broke my toe back in November during a spinning class and I haven’t been back to the gym since. Plus I’m on a budget now, so no gym memberships are allowed! Congrats on making a huge payment towards your debt & enjoy those beautiful summer days 🙂



Carly says:

Oh no! Sorry about your toe. That happened to me a few years ago, and it’s amazing how much inconvenience one little broken toe can cause! Thanks so much for the kind words! 🙂



Brigitte says:

Hey lady — hope you’re having fun in the sun and getting lots of R&R. Congrats on your new fitness regime and of course that debt thing! You know what I’ve been up to this summer…so I won’t go into that. Have a wonderful, wonderful vacation, Carly. Miss you! Take care.



Carly says:

Hi love! I miss you too! I hope things are going as smoothly as possible for you. You’ve been in my thoughts and I can’t wait til we all do our first skype meeting. And the wheels have already been spinning over how to make a weekend getaway to your new neck of the woods happen. Stay strong–and thanks for the support!



doordebt says:

Congrats on such a nice payment on your credit cards! Hope your enjoying the summer (while it lasts!)



Carly says:

Thanks so much for stopping by! And thanks for the kind words. Happy summer! 🙂



Hi Carly! Well done on your credit card payment, that’s amazing! It must feel great to have made such a big payment towards your debts. Sounds like the fitness regime is going really well! I must start getting fit soon. 🙂



Carly says:

Hi there! Thanks so much for visiting! It does feel great — but you know this. Congrats on your progress, as well. 🙂



I hear ya! I am so out of shape, it’s pathetic. Summer is a time to get back on track for me, as well. I’m tackling the nutrition issue right now, because I actually do have a LOT of weight to lose!



Carly says:

Thanks for visiting, Bethany! Why is it so hard?! I think scientists should start working on creating a body that just maintains itself! Good luck!! 🙂



[…] Join Carly at Re-Creating Carley as she enjoys Tea & Inspiration – Part Two – Summertime. […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
